Worst Books of 2018

This year, I started reading again after years on hiatus. So, naturally, I wanted to read all the things. This turned out to be a mistake, because a lot of it just wasn’t for me. I also started watching booktube a lot, which certainly influenced my decisions on books to read. I read 63 total books this year. But, without further ado, here are my worst books of 2018 in no particular order.

The Infinite Sea and The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The Infinite Sea rating on Goodreads: 3.91

The Last Star rating on Goodreads: 3.63

I was super excited to read The 5th Wave this year. This was prior to me looking up any reviews on books. I just had been seeing this every time I went to Target, so I picked it up because it sounded interesting. Basically, it’s about an alien invasion that wipes out the planet, leaving only a few people behind. I enjoyed the first book in the series, but the last two were just bad. I was confused on what was happening, and while reading the last book I took a pretty long hiatus from reading because I was over it. I was determined to finish, and I did, but overall I thought these were poorly written books.

thegunslinger

The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Rating on Goodreads: 3.97

Another book that made me take a long hiatus. I have read several Stephen King books, and I was super excited to read this. After all, I had seen the trailer to the movie and it looked badass. Basically it follows the last Gunslinger and his companion through the desert looking for the evil man in black. Super boring, super long winded and not entertaining at all. It was very forgettable, and I can remember nothing about this already. I already unhauled it off of my bookshelf.

theandromedastrain

The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton

Rating on Goodreads: 3.89

This book would have been a lot of entertainment if it literally didn’t read like a scientific journal. The writing is very dry. It follows a group of scientists who are trying to study an alien “virus” that has landed on Earth and killed a small town of people. They are trying to figure out how to kill the virus, etc. This would have been a super entertaining read if it was in a different writing style. It just wasn’t my taste at all. I have also unhauled this from my shelves.

thesisterhood

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Amy Brashares

Rating on Goodreads: 3.77

How do I describe this one? This is probably one of the most overhyped book series I have ever seen. This follows 4 teenage girls who discover a pair of pants who happens to magically fit all 4 of them. They take turns wearing the pants and these are the stories of their adventures with said pants. You have 16 year olds flying everywhere by themselves, losing their virginity, working, being jerks to their soon to be step mothers, etc. I found these girls to be whiny brats. I didn’t relate to any of their stories. Of course, I won’t be finishing the series.

wewereliars

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Rating on Goodreads: 3.84

This is about our main character Cadence and her family/friends that she spends every summer with at their private island. There friendship is bad news. There are secrets that come out. Basically, it’s some whiny rich girl telling the story of her horrible life. I didn’t connect with her. I didn’t feel any sympathy for her. Call me a bitch, I don’t care. I just didn’t like this novel. The writing was also mediocre. I unhauled this one from my bookshelf.

thedaughter

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Rating on Goodreads: 3.99

Pirates? AWESOME! There are not that many pirate books out there, so super excited when I strolled across this one. This is about Alosa. She is the daughter of the King of Pirates. Her father has tasked her with faking prisoner on another pirate ship to look for a part of a map to the island of the sirens. She is prisoner on this ship where she continues to get manhandled by all the men on there and she sleeps around trying to hunt a map. Literally what this book is about. The writing is awful, and it was just awful period.

img_2486

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Rating on Goodreads: 3.58

This was my first Liane Moriarty book. Super excited. The premise sounded promising. This follows 9 folks (rich) who are taking part in a health retreat at an upscale resort. However, this resort is not what it seems. The writing was fine. The character development was great. This one just asked me to suspend my belief too much. I don’t want to give anything away. We just spent a lot of time learning this characters, and then it just turns batshit crazy? I will read Liane Moriarty again because people say that this is out of the ordinary writing for her.

img_2609

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand

Rating on Goodreads: 4.02

This is a take on the classic, A Christmas Carol. This follows a girl who was rotten in life. She was visited by the 3 ghosts, and she did not change her life around. Therefore, she died and she now plays the part of the Ghost of Christmas Past. She has been doing this for years trying to help one “Scrooge” a year turn their life around. This year, the “Scrooge” is a cute boy that she is going to fall for. The writing was more like a middle grade novel. It was poorly written, and I believe it had several discrepancies in there. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone.

One thought on “Worst Books of 2018

Leave a comment