Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty!

So, one of my goals going forward is reading one of my book of the month picks the month I get it. I chose this book for the month of November.

I was a Liane Moriarty virgin prior to this book. I’ve stayed away from all reviews prior to reading the book. After I read it, I watched and read some reviews that said this is a book that does not fit her usual style.

With that being said, this book is about nine strangers who end up booking a health retreat at an upscale resort. These characters are all having some kind of life crises. Every chapter comes from a different character’s point of view, but the POV we see the most is Frances. She is a 52 year old novelist whose lasted book just got rejected and she is also coming off of a scam relationship. She goes to this resort because it was recommended to her. The other strangers at the resort include a young married couple having issues in their marriage, a divorce lawyer who is having some relationship issues, a family of 3 who are looking to escape an anniversary of a bad thing that has happened, a mother whose now ex-husband left her for someone else, and an ex pro soccer player who is having personal issues now that he is no longer in the spotlight.

This is a health resort like no other and soon we figure out the mystery behind why it isn’t like the rest.

This book is PSYCHO! I can suspend my belief for a great story. But this is unbelievable and absurd. Will I give Liane Moriarty another shot? Sure as most people have said this is definitely out of her usual element. Her writing and character development in this book was excellent. Just the story was absurd and so it washed all of her great character development right down the toilet.

Overall 2.75 stars! I’m brutally honest and most people say I’m harsh with my reviews and ratings, but really I just feel like I rate it how I feel. This one just did not live up to my expectations.

Leave a comment